Standing on the Promises

Standing on the promises of God, what does that mean? What are the promises of God? These are two questions I had today so with the gears of my mind spinning I went to go search them out. I did some Bible study using Logos I found a few answers to one of my questions. The promises of God are

  • The gift of the Holly Spirit (Luke 24:49, Acts 1:4)
  • The fulness of life and eternal life (Hebrews 12:16)
  • The Resurrection (John 5:29)
  • The forgiveness of sin (1 John 1:9)
  • The presence of God ( Exodus 3:12)
  • The peace of God (Romans 5:1)

This is only a short list out of all that I found, I picked that ones that are most importuned  to me. So for the next question what does standing on the promises of God mean, well to the best ability it means to ponder, pray, and study daily the promises that God has given to us to pull us forward in are lives as believers in Christ.

With promises like this to pull us on, dear friends, let’s make a clean break with everything that defiles or distracts us, both within and without. Let’s make our entire lives fit and holy temples for the worship of God. (2 Corinthians 7:1, The Message)

Here is my newest sunday sermon sketch it illustrates a Christian in the midst of a howling storm of doubt and fear, fear of what you mighty wonder well for me it’s fear life, fear of the unknown, fear of the future, and fear of failing. In the sketch you will see that if that Christian moved he would be swept away but if he stands strong on the promises of God he is safe from the storm. Note that even thou he is safe he can still see the fierceness of the storm around him that is where faith in Gods promises comes in.


Standing on the Promises

STANDING ON THE PROMISES
by Debra Snipes

Standing on the promises of Christ my King,
Through eternal ages let His praises ring,
Glory in the highest, I will shout and sing,
Standing on the promises of God.Standing, standing,
Standing on the promises of God my Savior;
Standing, standing,
I’m standing on the promises of God.Standing on the promises that cannot fail,
When the howling storms of doubt and fear assail,
By the living Word of God I shall prevail,
Standing on the promises of God.Standing on the promises I now can see
Perfect, present cleansing in the blood for me;
Standing in the liberty where Christ makes free,
Standing on the promises of God.

Standing on the promises of Christ the Lord,
Bound to Him eternally by love’s strong cord,
Overcoming daily with the Spirit’s sword,
Standing on the promises of God.

Standing on the promises I cannot fall,
Listening every moment to the Spirit’s call
Resting in my Savior as my all in all,
Standing on the promises of God.

Well those are my thoughts for the week please comment and tell me what you think and if its something God used to speak to in any way tell some one about it start a conversation. Tell next week Stand Strong my friends in Christ.
Garret
A warrior of the Living God

One comment

  1. Greetings from Wordwise Hymns–and Happy New Year. What a great hymn to begin 2011! And your sketch is terrific. Whatever circumstances come our way, we do need to keep “standing on the promises” God has made in His holy Word. If you want to learn a bit more about this hymn, check out my blog for today. God bless.

Leave a Reply

